## **Alpha Epsilon State Founders**

Dr. Angela Mensing Beatty*	Miss Mary Beeman*	Mrs. Lilian Brownfield*
Mrs. Charlotte Buford*	Miss Flora E. Drake*	Miss Blanche Fuqua*
Dr. Merle Gray*	Miss Mabel Holland*	Miss Alma Koza*
Miss Florence Long*	Miss Ethelyn Miller*	Miss Elizabeth Mitchell*
Miss Anna R. Reade*	Mrs. Margaret Shephard*	Dr. Nila B. Smith*
Miss Anna Torrence*	Miss Floro Torrence*	

## **Alpha Epsilon State Charter Members**

Mrs. Myrtle J. Anderson*	Mrs. Edna McGuire Boyd*	Mrs. Bertha Fitzsimmons*
Miss Kathryn Kenndy*	Dr. Dorothy Koza Kennington*	Miss Elizabeth Meloy*
Miss Eleanor O'Connor*	Miss Mary D. Reed*	Miss Gertrude Shontz*

## **Alpha Epsilon State Honorary Members**

Alta V. Adkins*	Tede S. Allmon	Marvella H. Bayh*
Dr. Lillian G. Berry*	Mary Girvin Conen*	Louise D. Crooks
Dr. Josephine Curtis*	Anne E. Horner	Harriet Simmons Inskeep
Edna Johnson*	Karen Rose Layton	Mary Morris Leighton*
Phyllis J. Lewis	Dr. Mary Rieman Mauer*	Millie Pilot
Gertrude Ross*	V. Sue Biogett Shields	Eunice Young Smith*
Mabel West*	Dr. Jo Ann Gora, 14th President of Ball State University, Initiated April 2008	

<sup>\*</sup> Deceased. Note: Anyone having information about honorary members please contact the webmaster. Please include year of initiation and their contribution to education.

Indiana owes its founding to Dr. Nila B. Smith, who came to Indiana University as a professor of education only nine years after the Delta Kappa Gamma Society International had been founded in Austin, TX, May 11, 1929. As soon as Dr. Smith learned that there was no chapter in the state, she contacted Dr. Annie Webb Blanton, the Society's founder. Dr. Blanton was quick to follow the usual procedure for securing names of outstanding women educators by writing to schools and universities. The founders and charter members of Alpha Epsilon State were selected from these recommendations. Traditionally, 12 women are chosen as a state's founders. Because of the unusually large number of qualified women educators recommended in Indiana, 17 founders were chosen.

After necessary planning and preparation Dr. Blanton came to Indiana to install Alpha Chapter in Bloomington Jan. 26, 1938. Three days later Alpha Chapter journeyed to the Travertine Room at the Hotel Lincoln in Indianapolis, where Alpha Epsilon State was installed. Founder Mary Beeman said: "When I entered the Travertine Room of the Lincoln Hotel, I was pleased to see a number of my friends, so I felt I was in good company. I also noticed a dignified woman with a calm face briskly arranging candles, red roses, and other insignia about the tables. I knew this was Dr. Blanton. She was assisted by two women who were members of Alpha Chapter initiated in Bloomington.

"When the group assembled, Dr. Blanton explained the purposes and ideals of Delta Kappa Gamma, an honorary fraternity of women teachers. She, with the help of the two Alpha members, proceeded to initiate the founders, a meaningful and beautiful service, which left an indelible impression on me." Not included in this service were Margaret Shepard and Dr. Smith, who were already members, and Lilian Brownfield, who was initiated at a later date in the home of charter member Edna McGuire Boyd.

The women chosen to be Alpha Epsilon State Founders came from all areas of Indiana and represented a broad cross section of the teaching profession. Like the original founders, their credentials ranged from the elementary classroom through university levels, as well as administration.

More than seven decades have passed, and Alpha Epsilon State is justifiably proud of its contributions to the success of the Delta Kappa Gamma Society International and to education. Indiana members gladly serve on International committees. They have worked on International publications and contributed songs to the International song books. Both Mrs. Edna McGuire Boyd and Dr. Carolyn Guss, Indiana members, have served as International presidents. To promote Delta Kappa Gamma Internationally, Alpha Epsilon State sponsored Epsilon Chapter in Uppsala, Sweden, which was organized in 1978. Each year Alpha Epsilon State awards scholarships and mini-grants for innovative educational projects to their members and strongly supports International projects and purposes.

-- adapted from Our Indiana Heritage Our Founders ...