Delta Kappa Gamma
Alpha Lambda

Hobbs, New Mexico

Mission and Purposes





Membership Responsibility




The mission of The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International is to promote professional and personal growth of women educators and excellence in education.


To unite women educators of the world in a genuine spiritual fellowship;

To honor women who have given or who evidence a potential for distinctive service in any field of education;

To advance the professional interest and position of women in education;

To initiate, endorse and support desirable legislation or other suitable endeavors in the interests of education and of women educators;

To endow scholarships to aid outstanding women educators in pursuing graduate study and to grant fellowships to women educators from other countries;

To stimulate the personal and professional growth of members and to encourage their participation in appropriate programs of action; and

To inform the members of current economic, social, political and educational issues so that they may participate effectively in a world society.



Alpha Lambda Chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma meets every 2nd Monday of the month at 4:15 at Mills Elementary School.

Special Events


Alpha Lambda Officers

President:   Wendy Haggerton
Vice-President  Gail Bryant
Recording Secretary  Lonna Griffin
Corresponding Secretary  Sarah Reid
Treasurer  Joe Clarkson
Parliamentarian  Kay Hannum



Lisa Akridge Gail Bryant
Cynthia Trevino Joe Clarkson
Kala Duke Beverly Ellis
Sue Fox Lonna Griffin
Laura Greer Kay Hannum
Anne Henning Stephanie Holland
Patti Burch Patricia Youngblood
Melanie Murphy Sandra Newell
Vicki Newman Glenna Ohaver
Sarah Reid Martha Youngblood
Christine Mitchell Dorothy Rall
Rhonda Tyler Staci Lewis
Erica Armstrong Carey Lindner
Wendy Haggerton Kelli Ramirez
Sherri Williams Nancy Powell


Program of Works

Program Committee Christene Mitchell (Chair), Sara Reid, Lonna Griffin, Nancy Powell
Professional Affairs Martha Youngblood (Chair)
Sandra Newell, Gleena O'Haver, Staci Lewis
Personal Growth Lonna Griffin (Chair)
Laura Greer, Cynthia Trevino, Rhonda Tyler
Research Beverly Ellis (Chair)
Stephanie Holland, Gail Bryant, Carey Lindner
Music Sarah Reid (Chair)
Gail Bryant, Martha Youngblood, Erica Armstrong, Anne Henning

Educational Services

World Fellowship Laura Greer (Chair)
Vicki Newman, Anne Henning, Patti Burch
Communications Gail Bryant (Chair)
Lonna Griffin, Joe Clarkson, Melanie Murphy, Kelli Ramirez
Scholarship Sandra Newell (Chair)                              Glenna Ohaver, Cynthia Trevino,             Patricia Youngblood

Society Business

Membership Kay Hannum (Chair)
Sandra Newell, Sue Fox, Lonna Griffin
Finance Joe Clarkson (Chair)
Beverly Ellis, Stephanie Holland, Sue Fox
Nominations Sarah Reid (Chair), Sue Fox, Kay Hannum, Wendy Haggerton


Members Responsibilities

  Personal commitment to the Society

  Active participation at all levels
        Attendance, program participation, 
        acceptance of leadership responsibilities

  Assistance at Chapter meetings, conferences, workshops

 Payment of dues and fees

  Purchase of a key pin

  Support of the Mission and purposes



August         September         October        November 

December     January           February      March



Webmaster - Gail Bryant

Please, if you find any problems with this site, e-mail me immediately

History of Alpha Lambda

     The Alpha Lambda Chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma in New Mexico was   formed on May 11, 1979, When Lambda Chapter (the original Lea County chapter) grew so large that it became unwieldy.  The three current Lea County chapters are Lambda, Alpha Eta, and Alpha Lambda.  Alpha Lambda has been active at the state level with members serving on state committees and we are proud to have Connie Webb and Kay Hannum as Theta State past presidents.